Call Toll Free (661) 327-0601 En Español

Bakersfield Uninsured Motorists Claim Lawyer

Like the rest of the nation, California requires all drivers to carry minimum auto liability insurance coverage. Unfortunately, some drivers disregard the law. The Insurance Information Institute (III) estimates that 13% of motorists in the U.S. were uninsured in a recent year.

If you have been injured in an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, call Faulkner Law Offices in Bakersfield. Our experienced car accident lawyers are dedicated advocates for injured people.

Why Choose Us?

We take a personal, client-centered approach to personal injury law, maintaining a direct line of communication with our clients. We are a family-run firm and understand the importance of taking care of our clients and their unique needs. We know where to look for coverage in uninsured motorist cases to help secure compensation for you and your family.  Our attorneys operate on a contingency-fee basis, which means you pay us no fees until we win your case for you.

Uninsured Motorist Statistics

The Insurance Information Institute reports that:

  • One in eight drivers in the U.S. was uninsured in a recent year.
  • Florida had the highest percentage of uninsured motorists (26.7%) and Maine had the lowest (4.5%).
  • In California, 15.2% of motorists were uninsured.

Auto Insurance Requirements in California

As stated by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles are covered in California Insurance Code §11580.1b. The requirements are:

  • $15,000 for injury or death of one person
  • $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person
  • $5,000 for property damage

Insurance companies are required to offer uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage when they sell an auto policy in state. If you turn down this coverage, you must sign a waiver. Uninsured motorist coverage pays for injuries to occupants of your vehicle sustained in an accident caused by an uninsured driver and for damage to your vehicle up to $3,500 if the at-fault uninsured driver is identified. It automatically includes underinsured motorist coverage, which pays for limited costs of bodily injury suffered in an accident with an underinsured driver.

What to Do after an Accident Caused by an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist

If you are hit by an uninsured driver, you can make a claim under your own insurance policy’s uninsured motorist coverage. If your damages are greater than the policy limits of the driver who caused your accident, you must first exhaust available coverage of the at-fault driver, after which you may file a claim for the remainder of your damages under your own policy’s underinsured motorist coverage, up to policy limits.

Why Do You Need a Lawyer?

A significant percentage of drivers in this state are not carrying auto liability coverage, even though it is required by law. Other drivers carry only the mandatory minimum auto liability insurance, which may not be enough to compensate you for your losses.

If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you may file a claim under your own policy. However, the insurance company is likely to value your claim at less than it is worth. Insurance company representatives are motivated to minimize their payouts. Competent, aggressive legal representation is needed in that case to effectively pursue full and fair compensation for your losses.

Contact Us for Help

If you have been hurt in an accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, you still need to recover compensation for your medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other losses. Our experienced Bakersfield car accident attorneys at Faulkner Law Offices can skillfully and aggressively pursue the compensation you deserve. Call us today to schedule a consultation.